UHR Directory

Service Center - hrshelp@iastate.edu
Ed Holland, Director, edhollan@iastate.edu

Major Functional areas:

  • Departmental support and scheduling
  • Personnel action approvals Payroll sign-up
  • Triage for issues and questions
  • Record Management

 

Connie Sabin, sabin@iastate.edu 294-2936
Ilene Obrecht, isande3@iastate.edu 294-6456
Emily Bingaman, embing@iastate.edu 294-6457
Morgan Fisher, uhrmaf@iastate.edu

Benefitsbenefits@iastate.edu
Ed Holland, Director, edhollan@iastate.edu

Major Functional areas:

  • Employee benefit consultation & assistance
  • Employee benefit plan administration
  • Benefit communication
  • Vendor management
  • Retirement education
  • Integrate with WellBeing

 

Jane Walter, jwalter@iastate.edu 294-7681
Jerilyn Rasmusson, jkrasmu@iastate.edu 294-7682
Colleen Schalinske, cschali@iastate.edu 294-1407
Dawn Shedarowich, dawns@iastate.edu 294-4820
P. Ann Doty, pdoty@iastate.edu 294-4521
Sarah Swenson, sswenson@iastate.edu 294-5598

Ryan Stuart, uhrras@iastate.edu

Patra Wanandi, uhrprw@iastate.edu

Employee Assistance Program
Ed Holland, Director, edhollan@iastate.edu

The Employee Assistance Program (EAP) is administered through Employee and Family Resources (EFR). You can contact EFR at (515) 244-6090 or (800) 327-4692 24 hours/day, 7 days/week. Additional information on the ISU EAP can be found at http://hrs.iastate.edu/eap/.

Child Care and Family Resources - ccfamily@iastate.edu
Julie Graden, Manager, jagraden@iastate.edu

Major Functional areas:

  • Administration for child care programs & services on campus 
  • Direct the Child Care Access Means Parents in School (CCAMPIS) Grant Program for student parents
  • Administration & Service Management of campus child care vendor contracts 
  • Monitor compliance with state and national regulatory standards for campus child care
  • Direct & manage child care scholarship programs for ISU student parents
  • Monitor client satisfaction of campus child care programs & services

 

Keesha Wormely, kwormely@iastate.edu
294-3149

Classification & Compensationuhrcc@iastate.edu
Emma Mallarino-Houghton, Director, emh@iastate.edu

Major Functional areas:

Compensation

  • Compensation Policy development & interpretation
  • Compensation analytics
  • Market analyses
  • Pay matrices

Classification

  • Classification Policy development & interpretation 
  • Job descriptions
  • Organizational review
  • Reclassification

 

Whitney Grote, wgrote@iastate.edu 294-7567

Michelle Knapp, mlknapp@iastate.edu 294-4771

Kelly Sierens, uhrkcs@iastate.edu 

Employee/Labor Relations & Workers’ Compensation
Kristi Darr, Director, kdarr@iastate.edu

Major Functional areas:

  • Disciplinary actions
  • Dispute resolution
  • Family and Medical leave
  • Grievances
  • AFSCME Contract Management
  • Professional & Scientific Staff
  • Performance management
  • Policy development and interpretation
  • Reductions in force 
  • Unemployment processing
  • Workers’ Compensation
  • University Orientation

 

Andrea Little, alittle@iastate.edu 294-8915

Ruth Carlton-Appleton, rlapplet@iastate.edu 294-4467

Lisa Negus, Imnegus@iastate.edu, 294- 8606

Rachael Kroeze, rkoeze@iastate.edu, 294-8917

Emma Tanner, uhrekt@iastate.edu

Lindsey Vandekieft, uhrlkv@iastate.edu

Information Management
Mindi Balmer, Manager, mindi@iastate.edu

Major Functional areas:

  • HR Information Systems Support
  • Project management
  • Process improvement
  • Data reporting and analytics

 

Karl Schindel, karls@iastate.edu 294-8643

Cindy Van Loon, clvanlo@iastate.edu 294-2937

Evan Collins, uhrejc@iastate.edu

Learning & Development
Kristi Darr, Director, kdarr@iastate.edu

Major Functional areas:

  • Provide learning and development opportunities for employees
  • Support department change efforts
  • Manage the online learning tool for employees

 

Don Broshar, dbroshar@iastate.edu 294-2278

Talent Acquisition
Kristi Darr, Director, kdarr@iastate.edu

Major Functional areas:

  • Collaborating with hiring departments and units by providing needed resources and support through the sourcing and hiring process
  • Promoting university career opportunities to attract and source prospective applicants
  • Assisting current employees through the transfer or promotion to another university position
  • Creating talent pipelines by managing relationships with prospective applicants
  • Strategizing with employing unit’s HR Liaison to create positive impact
  • Background check process
  • Classification and Hiring System Administration

 

Dana Rasmussen, Manager
danaras@iastate.edu 294-4977

Brooke Dykstra, dykstrab@iastate.edu
294-7083

Jill Pretzer, jepretz@iastate.edu
294-4756

Chris Rourick, rourick@iastate.edu
294-3814

Hailie Baccam, uhrhab@iastate.edu

WellBeing
Stephanie Downs, Wellness Coordinator, sdown@iastate.edu

Major Functional areas:

  • Planning, promotion, and implementation of well-being programs, services, and education
  • Marketing and communications development
  • Coordination with internal programs and services, i.e. Benefits, Learning and Development, EAP
  • Data analysis, evaluation and need assessment reviews
  • Collaboration with local, state, and national initiatives

 

UHR Administration

Kristi Darr, Interim Vice President of UHR

 

Cindy Beenken, cbeenken@iastate.edu 294-6458